Just Ducky

Heard two ducks flying low over the house early yesterday morning. Every spring they visit our garden (I don’t know if it’s the same pair as I’m not sure what their normal life span is) and we feed them and put out a little paddling pool for them.  Occasionally they repay us by taking up sentry duty on the roof, usually in the evening, when they go quacking up and down, much to the amusement of the neighbors.

Once they built a nest behind a shrub near a corner of the house. I saw eggs there but something came along and ate them before they had a chance to hatch. However, the following year, they arrived with a ready-made family which they must have marched over from another location. I was rather touched that they wanted to show off their brood to us. We’ve got into the habit of looking out for them now, and in twenty years they have very rarely failed to show up.

3 thoughts on “Just Ducky

  1. Oh my gosh, that last picture just makes me want to go cuddle up to cute things. Namely my children. But that’s a bad idea because they are finally asleep –for now– and you must never ever ever cuddle them when they are sleeping. If they wake up, they stop being cute and then you (me) are doomed.

    I’ll just go back to looking at your ducky picture then.

  2. I love this story. About two weeks ago a pair of Mallards plopped in my swimming pool. Gracie, my 102 pound mixed breed wasn’t quite sure what to make of them. They were clearly bigger than the pigeons that she chases away – and she looked at them as they preened the water from the pool from their feathers. After about 15 minutes they left as quickly as they arrived. (I think Gracie is still wondering if they will return).

    Thanks for sharing this story.

    • You never know! They may come back. They seem to be very much creatures of habit like so much of wildlife. There used to be a possum that would take a walk outside our house at the same time every evening. We always knew if we looked out of the window at a certain time we’d see him creeping by.

Leave a Reply

