The Remnants of Summer

I knew it was time to wave goodbye to summer when I saw frost on the neighbor’s roof early yesterday morning.  Where did those months go!  It seems like only yesterday that we were bidding farewell to winter.  Because the weather has been so hot for the past few months I feel like I’ve been doing nothing but languishing in the air-conditioned comfort of the house, achieving little in the way of outdoor activities such as gardening and walking.

Thankfully the dahlias in our garden, Tahiti Sunrise and Wanda’s Aurora pictured above, and the gigantic Croydon Masterpiece and Spartacus shown below, survived the heat and have given the place a splash of color if you don’t count the brown of the lawn which is, in many places, scorched beyond hope and the green of the weeds that took advantage of my absence.

At the Chicago Botanic Garden I caught a glimpse of an egret as it waded about looking for something to eat. I expect they are already making their way south. This one didn’t stay for too long, probably mindful of the long journey ahead.

There are still plenty of flowers at the Garden but these sunflowers particularly caught my eye; their last hurrah before Autumn takes hold.

12 thoughts on “The Remnants of Summer

  1. I love the dahlias.They are my favorite flower.My grandma used to plant the dinner plate variety every year,then dig up the tubers in the late fall.My daughter even wanted them in her wedding bouquet.These are such pretty pictures.

  2. A few years back, when I was a massage volunteer with Hospice, one of my patient families gave me several dahlia bulbs. My parents had grown dahlias when I was a kid, so it was nice to reconnect with the flower again. I grew them for two years, taking them (in the end) to the wife of a patient dying of cancer (who herself had cancer). The flowers were a deep maroon and huge, like nothing she had ever seen, and brought her such joy. Thanks for reminding me of that time.

    • Isn’t it wonderful how flowers can bring so much pleasure and stir so many memories. I know my mother always used to love the fragrance of lilacs, and the perfume of roses after a rain shower always remind me of my grandmother.

  3. A beautiful selection. I’m envious of your dahlias – mine failed this year and the roses also suffered. I hope the frost will stay away for some weeks yet.

    • Thanks, Louis! I’m hoping the dahlias will last a bit longer. There are still several that, although have plenty of buds, have not actually bloomed yet. The weather has been so weird this year and early morning frosts keep threatening to finish everything off.

Leave a Reply

