A Touch of Red

A touch of red 3When Henry Wadsworth Longfellow wrote,

Chill airs and wintry winds! my ear

has grown familiar with your song;

I hear it in the opening year

I listen and it cheers me long.”

I can pretty much guarantee that he wasn’t sitting in Chicago at the time.  I think Shakespeare was putting it mildly when he wrote of winter, “Thy breath be rude.”  Here in Chicago it’s downright diabolical!

A touch of red 4

Who needs sub-zero readings on the thermometer and winds that cut you in half like a knife.  We need to throw off the mittens, scarves and extra sweaters.  We need some heat.  We need a touch of red.

A touch of red 2

Red, to me, speaks of blazing tulips, the smell of roses after the rain and luscious, ripe strawberries.  I picture a red and white checkered tablecloth spread for a picnic in a field of bright poppies. I can imagine sitting under a red beach umbrella, feeling the warm sand between my toes.

Strawberry Fest

I want to watch a flaming sun as it sets on a perfect summer day. I want to savor the sensation of tasting fresh-picked raspberries.  I want fireworks on the 4th of July, cherries and fragrant carnations.  I want red!

A touch of red

 

6 thoughts on “A Touch of Red

  1. Hmmm, closing my eyes imagining the red, velvety smell of roses and raspberries! (which smell incredibly similar, to me) Opening my eyes, I’m still in Milwaukee. Stay warm, my friend! And thanks for these little respites!

Leave a Reply

