The Orchid Show

OS 2

The Orchid Show which runs through March 16th at the Chicago Botanic Garden is an event not to be missed.  I went there the other day and managed to take more than 400 pictures of some of the most beautiful blooms imaginable.

OS 3

I felt like a kid in a candy store as I walked through the various displays which have been set up in and around the greenhouses at the Garden.  And you could hear the “Oohs ” and “Aahs” as other visitors came upon one spectacular flower after another.

OS 4

I’ve tried growing orchids without any success.  It’s no easy matter so I can appreciate all the hard work that goes into cultivating these glorious specimens. There are more than 10,000 orchids on display at the show and every one a gem.

OS 5

There is more than a touch of Hawaiian magic about the show with live Hawaiian music and hula dancing at the weekends as well as demonstrations on lei-making.  There is also a free music concert at 10am on Tuesdays.

OS 6

There is no better way to beat the winter blues in the Chicago area than to step inside The Orchid Show and see for yourself all these gorgeous blooms in such a multitude of colors.

OS 8b

10 thoughts on “The Orchid Show

  1. I remember going to the Garfield Park Conservatory in the 70s with my parents in the dead of winter and just inhaling the warm, humid, fragrant air with a sigh! Smelling damp earth is like heaven.

  2. I too love orchids, and have managed to grow six phalaenopsis successfully on my kitchen windowsill (plus one I am trying to coax into flower for my daughter). Only one is in flower at the moment – rather like the one in your second photo – quite beautiful in the dreary winter months. I particularly like the photo of the bright yellow one, with tongues of fire!.

    • Thanks, Gill! You must have a green thumb when it comes to indoor plants. I never have any luck growing plants inside but I suppose it could have something to do with available light. (That and an impatient need to see things ‘get a move on.’

Leave a Reply

