Travel Theme: Blossom

travel theme blossoms

I didn’t have to travel too many miles to find a fitting subject for Ailsa’s Travel Theme challenge on Where’s My Backpack? at http://wheresmybackpack.com/2014/05/16/travel-theme-blossom/ which this week is Blossom.

travel theme blossoms 2

Springtime is lilac time which means a trip to Lombard and Lilacia Park.  Who would think that lilac came in so many different shades!  And the perfume is just heavenly.

travel theme blossoms 3

The lilac blossom reaches its peak of perfection in May which is when Lombard holds its annual Lilac Festival. More than 700 lilacs are in bloom in the park at this time of year, as well as a beautiful show of tulips (more of those in a future post.)

travel theme blossoms 4

I didn’t stay for the parade as I had an important date with a lawn that needed mowing, but I spent a delightful hour or so walking around the park, sniffing appreciatively at the blossoms and enjoying the first sunny day that we’d had in quite a while.

travel theme blossoms 5

 

8 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Blossom

  1. Lilacs are just coming to bloom here in Wisconsin, and the Lilac Festival on Mackinac Island isn’t until June. I bought some lilac oil in a boutique there years ago, and just a dab on my neck reminds me in early spring of delights to come. One of my favorite scents! (along with gardenia and star jasmine)

    • The smell of lilac always makes me think of home in England. The weather has been so unsettled here in Chicago that I was afraid I may have missed the best of the lilacs in Lombard but evidently I timed it just right.

    • Thank you! I’m always tempted to bring some of the lilac blossoms indoors but they never seem to do well once they’re picked, so I just have to stand out in the garden and soak up the perfume.

    • It’s a pity they don’t last longer but then I suppose if the perfume were constantly there, we probably wouldn’t notice it as much. It’s something to look forward to every year.

Leave a Reply

