Back to Life

Back to Life

Despite a gloomy start to Spring, the weather has improved considerably this past week, and things are finally coming back to life in the garden.  In fact, life has moved at such a pace recently that the daffodils came and went before we had time to really appreciate them. The tulips, however, are just starting to show what they can do.

back to life

I spotted my arch-nemesis, the rabbit, outside the kitchen window the other day.  He was evidently working on the assumption that if he couldn’t see me, I couldn’t see him. Not so, my furry friend!  I’ve got my eye on you!  (note to self; get out there and spray coyote widdle on the lilies.)

back to life 6

At least the azalea and tulipa tarda seem to be safe from this marauding muncher. Lilies appear to be his favorite snack which is why they get my special attention at this time of year.

chipmunk 1

In all the years that we’ve lived here, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a chipmunk in our garden. Plenty of other things have paid us a visit; ground squirrels, raccoons, skunks, possums, squirrels and rabbits to name but a few, but never a chipmunk, until now.  He may just be passing through, so I made sure to get quite a few shots of him for the picture files.

back to life

Ducks have always been regular diners here and they showed up the other day to see what was on offer. They polished off all the bird seed that was on the ground and a few crusts of bread then waddled away to see what the neighbors were serving.

 

13 thoughts on “Back to Life

    • I was beginning to wonder if we’d ever see the sun again. And I have to admit that I do have a soft spot for the bunny, despite the havoc that he wreaks on some of my best garden plants.

  1. Your arch-nemesis is lovely – how can you begrudge him a nibble? Also, as chipmunks can spend their entire lifetimes in an area no bigger than a back yard, I think you may have a resident! 🙂

Leave a Reply

