The Silent Stalker

silent s 2.JPG

Up until recently I have always enjoyed what I considered to be reasonably good health. Admittedly, the blood clots in 2009 threw me for a loop. I wasn’t expecting that, but once I had recovered I felt pretty good so when this year’s annual check-up revealed high calcium levels in the blood it came as something of a surprise to learn, after several blood tests and scans, that I had a silent stalker, namely significant osteoporosis and something called hyperparathyroidism.  Go figure!

silent s 6

silent s 3.JPG

I had no idea that all this was going on inside me.  I felt fine!  So it was a difficult call to make. Should I go ahead and have the recommended surgery or leave well alone.  For better or worse, after much soul-searching and weighing up the pros and cons, I decided to go ahead and have the op on Tuesday.

silent s 1.JPG

Things apparently went very well.  The surgeon seemed pleased with the results and if I hadn’t had rather an unpleasant reaction to the anesthetic I probably would have gone home the same day.  As it was, I languished in hospital overnight and was sent home the next day.

silent s 4.JPG

Naturally there have been some severe restrictions on my activities for the past couple of days and taking short walks around the garden has me itching to get back to work, pulling weeds and tidying things up. No! Must not!

silent s 5.JPG

So what do you do when you can’t get your hands dirty, get down on your knees and get in amongst the flowers?  Why, you take pictures of them, of course!  Hopefully in another week or so I’ll be back to somewhat normal.

silent s 8.JPG

silent s 7

15 thoughts on “The Silent Stalker

  1. I do hope you are feeling better now. It stinks to be sick, especially when there are so many things you want to be up and involved in. I have two daylillies this year and I can’t wait to plant several more next spring. Your photos are so beautiful!

  2. Love your lilies. I have been thinking that I need to get out in the early morning sun to take some photos of my favorite lilies that are now blooming. Last week-end we had a couple of cool mornings that I used to do some dead heading but other than that I don’t feel the need to have dirty hands. 🙂

Leave a Reply

