Weekly Photo Challenge – Quest

Cheri Lucas Rowlands’ choice of topic for this week’s Photo Challenge on The Daily Post, Quest, could not have come at a more opportune time.  More than sixty years ago when I was a young schoolgirl in England, I became the proud recipient of my own library card.   I can remember as clearly as if it were yesterday, the first book that I borrowed with that card.  It was a very old publication on the history of the American Indian Nation. The photographs were probably some of the first ever taken and I was absolutely fascinated by the faces that stared out at me from those yellowing pages.

wpc-quest-1

wpc-quest-2

wpc-quest-3It became something of a lifelong ambition (or quest, if you will) to one day see something of the American Indian culture.  I don’t pretend that it was an all-consuming passion. I didn’t make a study of it or even pursue it once I came to America but I often thought about that book whenever I saw Native American artifacts or costumes in a museum and when I read that the American Indian Center’s 63rd Annual Chicago Pow Wow was about to take place at a nearby forest preserve in September, I realized that now was the time to make good on that promise I had made myself all those years ago.

wpc-quest-4

wpc-quest-5

wpc-quest-6

I’ve never been a great one for portrait photography, always feeling rather self-conscious about taking other people’s pictures especially when they are total strangers, but I was determined to make the most of this opportunity, and I have to say I was very pleased with the results.  I hope to share more of these images in upcoming posts.

wpc-quest-7

wpc-quest-8

wpc-quest-10

wpc-quest-9

For more on The Weekly Photo Challenge on The Daily Post go to https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/quest/

 

 

32 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Quest

  1. A great quest – fulfilled. Wonderful portraits and great post. My own first books were also about native Americans. I have always admired them and their knowledge of nature and the world. And, like all wonderful people, they have been so maltreated and misunderstood.

  2. Was that at Busse Woods? I am originally from that area and saw the signs for the Pow Wow every year but never made it over there. Awesome pictures and look forward to seeing your other photos. I feel shy taking pictures of people, too. I only sneak from behind shots. Good for you to go for it!

    • Yes, it was at Busse Woods. I don’t know if they always hold it there but I’m definitely going to look out for it next year. They ran a shuttle bus over from the parking lot on Golf Road and it all seemed well organized. We spent most of the day there and I would have liked to have gone back on Sunday but had other commitments. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Much appreciated.

  3. Pingback: Quest: Valetta | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Nature of the Dance – Jingle Dress | The Nature of Things

Leave a Reply

