Winter in the Greenhouse

We had, initially, been disappointed upon our arrival at the Chicago Botanic Garden to find that only one section of the greenhouse was open to the public.  I’d forgotten about preparations for the upcoming Orchid Festival in February.  Apparently we were the only ones that weren’t aware of this since we were on our own, wandering around among the cacti.  This turned out to be a good thing as it’s usually quite busy in there during the winter months and, not having to feel obliged to move along and make room for other people, I was able to take my time and capture plenty of images.  Having driven all the way to the Garden I wasn’t about to go home empty-handed (photographically speaking.)

greenhouse-2

greenhouse-4

If you follow my blog on a regular basis you will know that I don’t spend too much time reading labels and notices when I’m taking pictures so I can’t tell you what most of these plants are called, other than to say there were a lot of spiky things and succulent things.

greenhouse-7

greenhouse-6

greenhouse-5

greenhouse-14

There were a lot of lovely flowers too, that helped to brighten an extremely gloomy day, although I really shouldn’t complain about the weather as it’s been an exceptionally mild winter here in the Chicago area so far.

greenhouse-3

greenhouse-13

greenhouse-10

greenhouse-15

Please join me for another walk around the greenhouse in winter in a future post and thanks for stopping by.

16 thoughts on “Winter in the Greenhouse

Leave a Reply

