The Nature Of Orchids

Time again for what has become an annual ‘must see’ on my calendar of things to do; The Chicago Botanic Garden Orchid Show.  Orchids are just one of Mother Nature’s miracles and no matter how many times I see them, I am in awe of their beauty. This year’s show was, if anything, even more amazing than those of previous years. Maybe I hit it just at the right time.  If you leave it too late, the blooms are past their best. These were spectacular!

orchids-1

orchids-3

orchids-2

As usual, I felt like a kid in a candy store with so many gorgeous flowers to photograph.  I heard one woman say, “It’s like a living postcard!”  How right she was!

orchids-4

orchids-5

orchids-6

And, if I understood things correctly, there will be even more orchids to see at future shows as the Garden is planning to add new greenhouses, specifically for the purpose of raising its own orchids, as part of the Kris Jarantoski Campus Garden.  Hooray!!

orchids-7

orchids-9

orchids-12

orchids-10

32 thoughts on “The Nature Of Orchids

  1. Wonderful! Lovely shots of the beauties! Vandas are some of my favourites too, but they are difficult – at least in my house. Lucky you to see the show.

  2. Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos. Orchids are one of the few plants that I seem to be successful in growing! I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to look? Have a good afternoon, Sam 🙂

  3. Insider tip! (I’ve been going to the orchid show with my mother every year for the past four years), there is an after orchid show sale where you can buy the orchids that were shown during the sale on a super steep discount. It’s just a huge bother to transport all of them.

Leave a Reply

