Tongues

When I posted a few giraffe pictures recently for Jennifer Nichole Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge, fellow blogger, Scillagrace, pointed out that I had omitted to include any which show the giraffe’s prodigious tongue.  Going back to the photo files I managed to find a few that give only an idea of just how long it really is.  A giraffe’s prehensile tongue can measure anything up to 18 to 20 inches in length. Very useful for reaching those tasty leaves on the topmost branches of a tree in the wild but at the zoo the food is put within easy reach so there’s not much call for any kind of strenuous tongue activity.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Tongues

  1. Enjoyed these photos – they really made me smile. As a child I lived near Regents Park and used to be able to see these lovely animals and through the railings for free!

    Thanks for following my blog – I really appreciate it. Sometimes I struggle to keep it going as I’m working full time but so enjoy connecting with people all over the world.

  2. Many years ago, you were able to get really close to the giraffes at the zoo in Seattle. I used to feed them Milk Duds candy so I had a good view of that tongue. Yes, I now know that candy is not good for them. 😕

    • Yes, I remember the days when we used to throw sticky buns to the bears (before we knew that it was bad for them.) I wish someone would do the same for me now. Why is it that everything that tastes so good is bad for you? I’m sure the giraffes loved the Milk Duds!

Leave a Reply

