Frog Soup

The color for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge this week is lime or light green and since I was hoping for an opportunity to share the following pictures this seemed like the ideal time, even though they may not strictly be considered that exact shade.


On a still and steamy day at the tail end of August, the turbid waters of the pond at Spring Valley Nature Center in Schaumburg resembled nothing so much as frog soup. Everywhere you looked there were hundreds of these curious little creatures, peering out of the water or perching on lily pads.


There has always been a special place in my affections for these little guys. They have kept me company during many peaceful moments at the water’s edge in various nature centers, gardens and parks. There’s something very companionable about spending time with a frog, both of us sitting there thinking our own thoughts.


“What is this woman doing???  She’s been sitting here for ages, just watching! I don’t think she’s a threat but every once in a while that shiny thing she’s holding gives off a flash of light that, I have to say, is a bit disconcerting. Any of you chaps know who she is?  No, well just ignore her. Perhaps she’ll go away.”

For more on Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge go to Lime or Light Green.

26 thoughts on “Frog Soup

    • Thanks, Indira! I remember many years ago my dear mother asking me, when we were at the nature center, “How many pictures do you need to take of a frog?” The answer would be, “You can never take too many.”

  1. I love frogs myself. Use to play with tadpoles when I was younger. Catch them and then let them go. Wonderful collection for fans of frog soup. ❤

  2. You’ve chosen perfect lime greens! I love frogs and ponds and would have LOVED to have seen and photographed this beautiful place.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.