It’s A Starling, Me Darling

Now that Spring is here, we are starting to see some of the medium-sized birds return to the garden. Among these are the starlings, uncouth yobs that have a tendency to push in and take over. Their one saving grace is their striking appearance.

Whenever I see these birds, I always think of the poem by Pam Ayres, I’m A Starling, Me Darling. It sums up the starling perfectly. I love her poems and songs!

We’re starlings, the misses, meself and the boys,
We don’t go round hoppin’, we walks.
We don’t go in for this singing all day,
And twittering about, we just squawks.


We don’t go in for these fashionable clothes,
Like old Missel Thrush, and his spots,
Me breast isn’t red, there’s no crest on me head,
We’ve got sort of, hardwearing…dots.


We starlings, the misses, meself and the boys,
We’ll eat anything that’s about,
Well anything but, that old half coconut,
I can’t hold it still. I falls out.


What we’d rather do, is wait here for you,
To put out some bread for the tits,
And then when we’re certain, you’re there by the curtain,
We flocks down and tears it to bits.


But we starlings, the misses, meself and the boys,
We reckon that we’re being got at,
You think for two minutes, them finches and linnets,
You never sees THEM being shot at.


So the next time you comes out to sprinkle the crumbs out,
And there’s starlings there, making a noise,
Don’t you be so quick to heave half a brick,
It’s the misses, meself and the boys!

By Pam Ayres.

They usually travel in flocks and can be quite a problem at the bird feeders once they become established. A single pair can raise 2-3 broods per year with each brood producing 5-8 young, so it’s easy to see how the numbers can become overwhelming.

So far, they have not become a nuisance here, and as long as they continue to play nice with the other birds, I won’t have a reason to discourage them although, as with all birds, I maintain a healthy distance. Those beaks look like they could give you a nasty dig.

37 thoughts on “It’s A Starling, Me Darling

  1. Oh Sue, this post pegs starling behavior so well! They are striking visually but the nuisance factor is often off the charts. They can be very rude birds indeed!

  2. When I fed the songbirds I used to put out nyger seed in tube feeders which starlings (and grackles) have difficulties trying to access. I also took down any starling nests to discourage them from my yard.
    That poem is wonderful. I had never heard it before; it really describes them so accurately.

  3. Good ol’ Pam Ayres! Great photos. Starlings used to be a problem in the garden as there were always too many and very rowdy. Their numbers have dropped so now I let a few of them dominate the bird table for a while before my patience gives out and I bang on the window to tell them to leave!

    • At least the starlings leave when I bang on the window. The pigeons, on the other hand, just stare back at me. We don’t hear anything of Pam Ayres over here. Is she still active, I wonder? I did enjoy her poems and songs.

      • Pam appears on the TV occasionally but not as much as I’d like! She could always be relied upon to lift one’s spirits with her poems. I have the same book of poems that you have!!

      • My Dad was a great reader and would very often send me books that he had enjoyed. They were mostly items that weren’t readily available in the US, authors like Pam Ayres, Alan Coren and Spike Milligan, and usually very funny. They always cheered me up when I was feeling particularly homesick.

  4. I never heard that poem before. Very descriptive. Though they are not a favorite of birdwatchers, your pictures captured their beautiful iridescent plumage well.

  5. We had to stop feeding the birds in my complex this year because a bear was raiding the feeders. The birds of prey population in this areas seems to be on an uptick. They were stalking the feeders to pick the birds off before the ban. I would see starlings once in a while.

  6. Your photographs are beautiful and your introductory description of these starlings is spot on: they are invasive yobs with particularly bad manners! Fortunately I only have a few visiting our garden now and then – but when they do, the indigenous birds don’t stand a chance against these bullies of the feeders.

  7. Pingback: Guest Post: Never Give Up | Deep in the Heart of Textiles

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.